Avicii: True Stories: A tale of tragedy, excess, indifference, and home truths

Howard Gray
5 min readJan 29, 2019
Avicii. (image via Bild: Leutgeb Entertainment Group GmbH)

Originally released in 2017, the documentary film ‘Avicii: True Stories’, charting the career and personal life of Swedish DJ and music producer Tim Bergling aka Avicii, reappeared just before Christmas 2018 after a few months off screens following his death.

For me its return to screens was timely.

In the months preceding the film becoming available again, I had been investing much of my time and energy into building a professional coaching practice focused on supporting the career journeys of people in the creative industries — particularly those in music, media, and entertainment.

Watching ‘True Stories’ this past weekend I have no doubt I absorbed it with a far deeper insight than I would have done before beginning my coaching venture.

As someone working as a talent agent in the music industry (and specifically electronic music) up until around the time Avicii announced his retirement, the film resonated strongly with me for two reasons in particular:

Firstly, I had made the acquaintance of, and in some cases worked directly with, a number of the people in his circle.

Secondly, this story exposed the gaps in my own awareness and empathy for those I had worked with during my time in…

--

--

Howard Gray

Adventures in entertainment, education and entrepreneurial endeavours. I’m an educator and executive producer based in NYC.